Houses and gardens

Of course anyone who has ever read my blog will be expecting photos of plenty of National Trust properties and similar…

Karen and Paul came to stay and we had a lovely wander around the American Museum’s Christmas exhibitions and craft fair.

 

Once the work was out of the way and Mark and I were over our traditional Christmas cough/cold we went to a couple of our favourite National Trust properties, including Lacock Abbey…twice!

Visit 1:

 

visit 2:

I find myself drawn to doors and Lacock village has some very fine ones, particularly when sporting their festive wreaths!

lacock doors

Dyrham Park is just up the road from us and is such a great place to get some fresh air and exercise – I was particularly pleased to see flocks of redwings!

 

Finally, Mark and I popped in to the Bath Botanical Gardens in Victoria Park – partly to add to my photographic record of the Bath WI garden and partly just because it is such a lovely place, particularly when frosty. I was chuffed to bits to be able to get a photo of a kingfisher there – I have seen them a few times (mainly in the subtropical gardens in Abbotsbury) but they had always flashed past before Mark turned to look and he always accused me of imagining seeing them!

Leave a comment

Filed under places to visit, Uncategorized

I love comments - so do say hello!

