Kaffe Fassett brings a world of colour to the American Museum in Britain

Dodgy knees playing up after too much standing at yesterday’s craft market (and whacking my left knee on a table leg today), so decided to be sensible and have a quiet day at home, updating my shop and catching up on emails. I did most of it but was feeling a bit sorry for myself – and guilty about missing my sister’s open garden day – and decided that in fact catching the last bit of the afternoon’s sunshine would do me good. I must have been fairly grumpilicious as Mark was actually keen to take me to the Kaffe Fassett exhibition at the American Museum after weeks of telling me it really didn’t interest him!

I had seen photos of the yarn-bombed lamp posts, but…oh my!…they are fantastic! The American Museum has become a wooly wonderland!

american museum - 001

american museum - 002

american museum - 004

 

american museum - 010

The huge tree between the cafe and the exhibition hall is hung with pompoms and what looks like lampshades! Very cool.

american museum - 011

american museum - 013

american museum - 015

american museum - 016

american museum - 017

american museum - 018

american museum - 019

american museum - 020

I have been to many wonderful exhibitions at the American Museum, but only ever remember the exhibition hall and shop being a rather sedate white…it has been transformed!

american museum - 022

Sorry this photo is a little fuzzy (no tripod), but I just had to show you the mirrored tunnel leading to the exhibition hall. It made me fee a bit peculiar actually, like being trapped inside a kaleidoscope.

american museum - 023

american museum - 025

Again a bit fuzzy, but I loved the cabbage room!american museum - 026

I really WANT this cabbage teapot…I could make space for it!

american museum - 027

The exhibition room has been painted in zones of different colour – works a treat!

american museum - 030

No detail too small…

american museum - 032

Today it was more of a limp than a walk around the grounds, but I haven’t been to the American Museum since Christmas, and the grounds are closed then…I needed an English countryside fix.

american museum - 036

american museum - 037

american museum - 040

 

american museum - 052

american museum - 054

american museum - 059

american museum - 060

 

The formal gardens are looking lovely..

american museum - 067

…and are full of bees!

american museum - 069

american museum - 072

american museum - 073

american museum - 075

american museum - 078

american museum - 079

american museum - 082

note nice chap sitting on a bench in the background, waiting for me to finish photographing bees…for a change!

american museum - 085

american museum - 089

american museum - 092

We sat a while like an old couple, giving time for my knees to recover, and Mark came up with a very Mark sort of joke:

Q – What is this?

A – A knee cap!

american museum - 098

…and this is Mark laughing at his own joke!

american museum - 099

american museum - 101

american museum - 102

american museum - 103

american museum - 107

american museum - 108

Oh lookee! More bees!!!

american museum - 121

american museum - 122

american museum - 125

american museum - 128

american museum - 130

 

I was tempted to buy another tussie mussie pot (as mine now holds an array of crochet hooks), but I thought I should be sensible and save my pennies.

 

american museum - 136

Once again the camera bag carrier went ahead and not only sat and waited for the photographer, but bought her a pot of lemon and ginger tea too!

american museum - 137

american museum - 139

american museum - 140

american museum - 143

A nice hour or so…even though it was in Bath rather then Chepstow.

Leave a comment

Filed under places to visit

I love comments - so do say hello!

