treefest

After a week of sewing bags, bags and more bags, I have twice taken a break at Westonbirt Arboretum in the last three days. On Friday Mark and I had planned to take our friend’s dog to the silk wood, but Mark had to go in to work, so George and I went on our own. That gorgeous spaniel makes me laugh out loud, he is so excited about being there. We walked a long way and he made ever so many friends – and slept on the way home.

Today Mark and I went with Mark’s parents to Treefest – Westonbirt’s festival of wood. There were oh so many carvings, mirrors, chairs etc we would have loved to take home. Here are some of my favourites:

The ears aren’t right and the body is too long, but there is a hint of Hampus my favourite Swedish vallhund about this little dog.

love this little fella...reminds me a little of dear Hampus, the Swedish Vallhund

love this little fella…reminds me a little of dear Hampus, the Swedish Vallhund

 

I could picture this beautiful rocking chair in our bedroom…

beautiful hand-carved rocking chair

beautiful hand-carved rocking chair

 

There were lots of dogs there and this one was not happy about being tied up, but his owner let the dog come over and be made a fuss of…I got a big slobbery kiss (from the dog!)

there were dogs everywhere

there were dogs everywhere

 

The carvings were brilliant – love this owl and badger.

one badger at least safe from the cull

one badger at least safe from the cull

 

Gorgeous bear!

cute bear

cute bear

 

The owl and the pussy cat – how perfect is this!

the owl and the pussy cat

the owl and the pussy cat

 

This bench just made me grin – so clever and silly.

really love this bench!!

really love this bench!!

 

The perfect hideaway for a little kid…a t-rex skull made of wood!

kids just couldn't resist this wooden t-rex skull

kids just couldn’t resist this wooden t-rex skull

 

I have always loved dragons…

here there be dragons (actually I wondered if this might be Nessie)

here there be dragons (actually I wondered if this might be Nessie)

this little piggy stayed home...

this little piggy stayed home…

 

This is the one that tempted me most – £700 well spent, if you ask me (but Mark wasn’t so sure) – I can just see it at the bottom of the garden for the cats (and fairies) to shelter in.

perfect little wooden house

perfect little wooden house

 

I was also sorely tempted by these beautiful carved tables with tree root legs…very Rivendell.

amazing tables with tree root legs

amazing tables with tree root legs

 

I didn’t come away empty handed though, as Mark treated me to a trug (so I can be a proper gardener)

my very own trug!

…and an upcycled teacup birdfeeder! “I bet Irene would like this” he said…well maybe next time she visits.

anyone for tea?

anyone for tea?

2 Comments

Filed under places to visit

2 responses to “treefest

  1. What a lovely day you had! And yes, Mark is SO right, I LOVE the teacup bird feeder. But, to be fair, you are equally right, that wooden dog looks like Hampus 🙂

I love comments - so do say hello!

