the good, the bad and the ugly

Actually, chronologically it was the good, the ugly, the bad and the good…but who has time for chronology!

So today was a bit of a rush – yesterday’s nectarine chutney was a bit runny, so I boiled it up again to thicken it, finished testing Ellen Mouse for CE Mark self-certification (more in Deerey Me) and headed off to visit my friend only to get in to automatic pilot and go the wrong way and, far worse, let go of my car door and dented her car! However, feeling a bit gloomy, I got home to find this picture tucked in my letter box…it cheered me up no end!

the good

Sophie's beautiful drawing (thank you for the glove dog I gave her)

Sophie’s beautiful drawing (thank you for the glove dog I gave her)

the bad

It’s no good I can’t face sharing a photo of the dented car!

 

the ugly

Ellen Mouse post flammability test (she passed, but ended up as ashes anyway)...poor Ellen Mouse!

Ellen Mouse post flammability test (she passed, but ended up as ashes anyway)…poor Ellen Mouse!

 

more good!

Some more photos of my National Trust week…! I am going to be lazy succinct and mainly just post photos, I think the captions tell the story.

Barrington Court

Barrington kitchen garden

Barrington kitchen garden

dragonfly

dragonfly

flower garden

flower garden

bee in hollyhock

bee in hollyhock

I do love a gate in an old wall

I do love a gate in an old wall

Mr DeMille I'm ready for my close up

Mr DeMille I’m ready for my close up

I wouldn't look so snooty when you've got a feather on the end of your nose!

I wouldn’t look so snooty when you’ve got a feather on the end of your nose!

push me higher!

push me higher!

Barrington swing

Barrington swing

nature takes on architecture and wins

nature takes on architecture and wins

Too much Alice in Wonderland to resist...

Too much Alice in Wonderland to resist…

what cows through yonder window moo?

what cows through yonder window moo?

Barrington court in paper

Barrington court in paper

bathroom with a view

bathroom with a view

Barrington Court, Strode House

Barrington Court, Strode House

flowers in orange

flowers in orange

Barrington Court

Barrington Court

 

Lytes Cary

resting amid the flowers

resting amid the flowers

Lytes Cary

Lytes Cary

Lytes Cary

Lytes Cary

bee!

bee!

weeeeeeee!

weeeeeeee!

cool dude in a cool garden seat

cool dude in a cool garden seat

walk through the trees

walk through the trees

Lytes Cary topiary

Lytes Cary topiary

 

Lacock village and abbey

Lacock tree of light

Lacock tree of light

Lacock Abbey warming room

Lacock Abbey warming room

some strange redhead in a hat (me)

some strange redhead in a hat (me)

bees

bees

dairy maids are not what they used to be!

dairy maids are not what they used to be!

Lacock does Monet

Lacock does Monet

interesting delivery route

interesting delivery route

leaving King John's Hunting Lodge (but I suspect they will return)

leaving King John’s Hunting Lodge (but I suspect they will return)

honesty seed heads in sunlight

honesty seed heads in sunlight

Oh my!

Oh my! (sorry Irene, the expression was too priceless not to share!)

 

afternoon tea at the Royal Crescent Hotel

afternoon tea: BEFORE

afternoon tea: BEFORE

afternoon tea: AFTER

afternoon tea: AFTER

Royal Crescent Hotel garden

Royal Crescent Hotel garden

Royal Crescent cat

Royal Crescent cat

Royal Crescent Hotel afternoon tea

Royal Crescent Hotel afternoon tea

tea for three

tea for three

hotel cat

hotel cat

 

Dyrham Park

I have dodgy knees that were playing up and Dyrham is our ‘local’ so I waited in the garden as peacock butterflies fluttered about me, and even landed on me!

peacock butterfly

peacock butterfly

Dyrham Park peacock butterfly

Dyrham Park peacock butterfly

Dyrham Park bees

Dyrham Park bees

 

2 Comments

Filed under places to visit

2 responses to “the good, the bad and the ugly

  1. Oh – the memories!

    And yes, we do hope to be able to come back to the tea garden in Lacock. Wonderful place!

    I forgive you for posting that photo of me – the menu was really something! But beware – I have photos of you too…. 🙂

    And I would also like to point out that although it looks like it, I did not eat all of the delicious cakes and things at the afternoon tea at the royal crescent hotel myself!

I love comments - so do say hello!

