a National Trust Summer visit

This week Mark and I have welcomed two of our favourite Swedes in to our home and endeavoured to share with them a few of our favourite places. It has been a blissful week, gentle pottering around stately homes and gardens with frequent stops for elevensies, lunch and afternoon tea. We started the week with Tyntesfield.

The walk through the estate, with stops to look at the map, led us past the rose garden (now more lavender than roses) to the wonderful kitchen garden and on to the house.

lavender in the 'rose garden'

lavender in the ‘rose garden’

avenue

avenue

Tyntesfield house

I never can resist a bench

I never can resist a bench

I would love a walled garden with a bench like this

I would love a walled garden with a bench like this

shades of pink and white

shades of pink and white

bee

bee

bee central

bee central

another bee

another bee

produce for sale

wildflower bed in the kitchen garden

wildflowers in the kitchen garden

Mark and Irene in the kitchen garden

this is what I call a kitchen garden!

this is what I call a kitchen garden!

perfect fruit trees

perfect fruit trees

I covet these rhubarb forcers

I covet these rhubarb forcers

statice

statice

stained glass at Tyntesfield

stained glass at Tyntesfield

nature threatens to invade

nature threatens to invade

very posh light fittings!

very posh light fittings!

at your convenience

at your convenience

ssssssserpent

ssssssserpent

Tyntesfield chapel

Tyntesfield chapel

This year Bristol is dotted with giant Gromits, all differently decorated. This one, at Tyntesfield, was designed by garden designer Diarmuid Gavin.

grassy Gromit

grassy Gromit

Clevedon, Somerset

As we were in the area, we stopped off in Clevedon for a walk on the pier (and an ice cream, of course)

three go wild on a Somerset pier

three go wild on a Somerset pier

no escape from yarn

no escape from yarn

Mark and Kenth

Mark and Kenth

I think this will be Mark and me in years to come

I think this will be Mark and me in years to come

Clevedon

Clevedon

Clevedon Pier

Clevedon Pier

bunting on the pier

bunting on the pier

 

I still need to sort out the photos of Barrington Court, Lytes Cary, Lacock Abbey, afternoon tea at the Royal Crescent Hotel and Dyrham Park…so brace yourself for more photos of gardens and houses!

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 Comments

Filed under places to visit

4 responses to “a National Trust Summer visit

  1. Kenth

    Elevensies – what a great invention! A magnificent British contribution to mankind!
    /Kenth

  2. I miss England already – with elevensies and all! Not to mention the National Trust houses and gardens. Tea. Turkish Coffee cake. Cats. Great food. Lovely walks. Can I come back next week?

I love comments - so do say hello!

