the queen of Sweden is in my front garden…and she’s beautiful!

So when Mark and I decided we would love together in his house, rather than buy somewhere new together (it’s a lovely 1930s semi a short walk from the centre of Bath one way and rolling countryside the other, with a big garden…so why move?), his garden was a low maintenance stretch of shades of green. Now I love green, but in a garden I like colour and flowers and bees. Gradually, patches of hebes are morphing in to little patches of cottage garden, with foxgloves and penstemon and hollyhocks. I also treated myself to some roses a month or two back. Being something of a ‘Skandiphile’, with a number of Swedish friends, I could not resist buying rosa ‘Queen of Sweden’. I have been watching her grow from a bare root to a mass of lush green leaves, then buds and now beautiful, delicate flowers!

Queen of Sweden - bud

Queen of Sweden – bud

Queen of Sweden - bloom

Queen of Sweden – bloom

I do need to work out what is eating the leaves though and fix them…organically.

The hanging basket and pots are coming on nicely too – Summer is definitely here!

Summer pots of flowers

Summer pots of flowers

surfinia and lobelia

surfinia and lobelia

hanging basket: purple haze

hanging basket: purple haze

surfinia and lobelia

surfinia and lobelia

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5 Comments

Filed under garden

5 responses to “the queen of Sweden is in my front garden…and she’s beautiful!

  1. Mona

    Wow….. Just beautiful. I love all.

  2. I agree with Mona – it’s beautiful! My garden has been a bit neglected this year, but I hope to have more time for it next year. I might have to get a Queen of Sweden myself, it’s really pretty.

  3. Kath

    is that a typo in the first sentence? If so, it’s a lovely one!!

I love comments - so do say hello!

