the birds

I am spending so much time working on setting up Deerey Me, my life has become rather small scale. It is not dull to me, but I rather expect it may be to others. So I can only apologise for all these posts on cats and birds and bees, but this is what surrounds me at the moment.

I have been fascinated by small things since Mark first bought me a telephoto lens. In looking for the big things (I just mistyped that as ‘bug things’, which is most appropriate!), it is easy to overlook the small things right under our noses. I have become fascinated by the life that flocks to our bird table. The sparrows make a terrific noise, but I find it strangely soothing, and they are not at all bothered by my sewing with the dining room doors open…or even by the cats lying in the clover under the bird feeder.

Max in the clover

Max in the clover

Sometimes the cats make a move for the magpies, but then the magpies try to make a move for the sparrows – perhaps the sparrows have made some protection arrangement with the cats.

bird table - the new soap opera

bird table – the new soap opera

sparrows enjoying the meal worms

sparrows enjoying the meal worms

sparrow fledgling

sparrow fledgling

sparrow feeding time

sparrow feeding time

house sparrow

house sparrow

Yesterday the starlings returned. I hadn’t seen much of them since the cold weather, but now they are back with fledglings in tow…and my, my are those fledglings hungry! The sparrow fledglings flutter their fluffy feathers and tweet gently to be fed, but the starlings yell like teenagers with attitude.

starling invasion

starling invasion

starling fledgling

starling fledgling

feed me, feed me now!

feed me, feed me now!

Leave a comment

Filed under birds

I love comments - so do say hello!

